Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Aahh, dessert…. Since I’m not even a little bit of a baker, and since I generally enjoy leaning towards the healthier side of life, it’s always been my most challenging course to pull off. My compromise is usually some kind of fruit/ice-cream combination, or a cake packed with fruit (or vegetable) that I can enlist someone else to make, or something made with Spelt flour and minimal sugar, like these Cookie Ball Pops which I found on a delightful blog: -¬†http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2011/05/09/cookie-ball-pops/.

A few things to love about this recipe:

  1. The fact that they are “No-Bake” will please those interesting people in the world (many of whom have frequented my kitchen over the past couple of years) who enjoy gorging themselves on raw dough.
  2. The fact that they are “No-Bake” means that I don’t have to waste time baking them = LOVE!
  3. They are the perfect bite-size for after a large Shabbos meal.
  4. One could argue that they are semi-healthy.
  5. They look so cute and impressive!

No-Bake Spelt Cookie Pops

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of Spelt Flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1 cup Chocolate Chips
  • 1/2 cup Brown Sugar
  • 2-3 teaspoons Vanilla Extract
  • 2 heaped tablespoons Margarine (I prefer Earth Balance)
  • 1/2 cup Soy Milk

Mix together dry ingredients, then add the remaining ingredients. Mix well and form into balls. Insert a lollypop stick into each one, then freeze for at least 2 hours.

Makes approx. 17 pops

Enjoy!!

