Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

My son’s 2nd birthday is coming up, and I’m looking for ideas for his cake. I’m also looking for inspiration for treats to send into his class at pre-school. Of course, when I say “treats”, I mean sugar-free and preferably fruit-based food items. So not treats, I guess.

For my daughter’s 3rd birthday last year we made a ‘cake’ entirely out of fruit. And she LOVED IT. She still talks about it. Every time she makes a ‘cake’ in her play kitchen, it too contains nothing but fruit – (“Hooray.”) Here is a picture of said birthday cake:561999_10151396084848636_680881747_nI’m thinking about doing something similar but different for my son’s birthday. I’ll let you know what I come up with.

In the meantime, I’ve been trying out recipes to adapt for pre-school snacks, and this morning I came up with these fabulous* sugar-free muffins.

*Possibly my son didn’t find them so fabulous, since I found his upside down on the floor. My husband ate four of them though, so that’s still a win I suppose.

One more thing – Often I find that looking for specifically ‘sugar-free’ or ‘spelt’ etc. recipes doesn’t really lead me to the types of recipes for which I am generally looking – easy, pareve, margarine and sweetener-free, etc. As a result, I now look for regular recipes and just try to switch the ingredients that I don’t like for substitutes.  For example, this muffin recipe originally called for regular flour and white sugar, and I just subbed with Spelt and Unsweetened Applesauce. What can I say? They turned out fabulous.

Sugar-Free Spelt Banana Muffins

145

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 Cups Spelt Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon Salt
  • 3 Bananas
  • 1 Egg
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened Apple Sauce
  • 3/4 cup Oil

Pre-heat oven to 350 C. Mix together the first four ingredients in a bowl. In a separate bowl, blend together the remaining ingredients. Combine the contents of both bowls. Pour into greased or lined muffin pans and bake for 20-25 mins.

Makes 18 muffins.