Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Tortilla Chip Baked Chicken Strips

20150918_105351

I’ve been serving the same Chicken Salad basically every Shabbos day for the past year or 2 (recipe below). The vegetable and dressing components rarely change. However, I do like to switch up the chicken every couple of weeks or so. Sometimes I’ll do fried, breaded strips – usually a variation of my mini-Spelt Schnitzels, sometimes strips sliced from grilled breasts, and from time to time I’ll just experiment and see what happens. I like to make a big batch of chicken every 3-4 weeks, and then divide into small baggies and freeze, defrost and slice up Shabbos morning and then quickly throw together the salad before lunch. This week I needed to cater to a couple of gluten-free guests, and since my grill is out of action at the moment, I was forced to scrounge through my pantry and figure out a new option for this week’s chicken salad. Lo and behold, I found the 40 pounds of Tortilla chips that we’d accidentally bought before Rosh Hashanah (long story, very funny) and there was my answer. These strips turned out to taste sensational, are so easy to make, and I know will check most of the boxes for so many people: baked, gluten-free, kid-friendly etc. They are definitely going to make for one amazing salad.

  • 2 lb Chicken breasts, cut into strips and tenderized (bashed)
  • 2 Eggs, lightly beaten
  • 2 cups crushed Tortilla chips (I do mine in my mini Ninja = fav kitchen gadget)
  • 1 tblsp Garlic Powder
  • 1-2 tspn Paprika, Onion Powder
  • 1 tspn Salt
  • 1/2 tsp Black Pepper
  • Canola Oil

Soak the Chicken strips in the Egg, then mix the dry ingredients together before dipping in the egg-soaked Chicken and laying flat in a baking tray. Brush each Chicken strip with the Oiil, then broil on high (convection broil if possible for no more than 5 minutes). Remove from oven, turn over each Chicken strip then brush with Oil again. Return to oven for another 5 minutes max. Serve with any good dipping sauce or slice strips smaller for a Chicken salad:

Tangy Chicken Salad

  • 1 lb Chicken strips (see above)
  • 1-2 heads Romaine Lettuce, washed, checked and shredded
  • 1-2 baby cucumbers, sliced into half moons or chopped Celery

Dressing

  • 1/4 cup Mayonaise
  • 1 tblsp Mustard
  • 2 cubes Dorot Garlic or 2 crushed Garlic cubes
  • 1/4 cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1 tspn Salt
  • 1 dash black Pepper

Mix together dressing ingredients (can do in advance if necessary). Toss into Lettuce, Cucumber (Celery) and Chicken Strips.

